OpenInvoice
OpenInvoice transforms the way organizations manage accounts payable and procurement, whether you are looking for a simple solution with basic imaging-and-workflow capabilities or a fully-integrated electronic invoicing application tightly linked to existing internal accounting systems and supplier applications.
OpenInvoice provides the following functionality:
- OpenTicket: enables you to eliminate the paper, simplify processes, and significantly reduce administrative load. With a paperless field ticket process your field service professionals can focus on their jobs in the field, not at their desks.
- Purchase Orders: offers configurable purchase order submission functionality, accepts approved POs from client’s procurement systems and routes them, along with any attachments, to the appropriate supplier electronically. Suppliers are immediately notified about issued POs and can access them from within OpenInvoice.
- Electronic Invoicing: supports electronic invoicing in several ways - from hands-free business-to-business (B2B) integration to flipping purchase orders or creating invoices in the portal - and allows suppliers to pick and choose the method that works best . OpenInvoice even supports paper invoices through outsourced scanning and indexing.
- Approval workflow: offers comprehensive approval workflow functionality that helps ensure that all invoices are routed to the appropriate users and approved in a timely manner.
- Price Compliance: automatically checks every invoice, at the line item level, and instantly determines whether a price is correct or off - price book. Discrepancies are flagged, and suppliers are alerted immediately before the invoice is even submitted.
- Discount Management: electronic invoicing and automated workflow capabilities reduce processing cycles significantly, allowing you to capture more available discounts. OpenInvoice’s dynamic discounting capabilities enable you to dynamically change standard terms to accelerate payments using a sliding discount scale, driving incremental discounts.
- SupplierLink: allows suppliers to import invoices created in their Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) software into the OpenInvoice application.
Terminology
The terminology used in this document may differ from the terminology in your company. The Source-to-Pay Platform is configured to:
- Allow access to the various functions according to the permissions assigned to each user. Source-to-Pay functionality is accessible based on the user’s role, this document may describe a function that is not visible to the user.
- Allow changes to the Source-to-Pay user interface to correspond with the terminology used by the buyer in everyday business practices.
Note: These changes can only be requested by buyer companies. Visible changes to the user interface are made by Source-to-Pay Support.
In this document, the term “administrator” refers to a user who has been assigned a permission with “Admin” as part of its name (such as, Invoice Admin, Membership Admin).
Supported Languages
The Source-to-Pay Platform can be viewed in English, Spanish, French, or Hebrew. The language displayed is based on the first language listed in your browser settings.
Only the text on Source-to-Pay’s user interface is translated. Data entered by users is not translated.
Working with Windows and Microsoft Office
This section provides information for viewing TSV files and entering numbers in an Excel spreadsheet to ensure the files are compliant with the OpenInvoice application.
Configuring Windows to View TSV Files
Before Source-to-Pay reports and exported files can be viewed, your computer must be configured to open Tab Separated Value (TSV) files with a spreadsheet application such as Microsoft Excel.
To configure Windows to automatically open TSV files in Excel:
- In Windows Explorer, navigate to the directory where the file is saved.
- Right-click the file.
- Select Open With, then click Choose Program and select Microsoft Excel from the list of programs.
- Select the Always use the selected program to open this kind of file checkbox.
- Click OK.
Entering Numbers in Excel
If data is being entered into an Excel spreadsheet for use in the Source-to-Pay Platform, ensure your numbers are saved in the correct format. By default, Excel will automatically change longer numbers into scientific format which is not recognized by the Source-to-Pay Platform.
- Numbers longer than 11 digits will be converted into scientific format. (This does not apply to digits combined with letters and/or symbols.)
- Any numbers after the 15th digit will be displayed as zeros in scientific format.
- A period in a number can be misinterpreted as a decimal and digits following the period may be removed.
To prevent automatic formatting in Excel:
- Right-click the column in which you are entering your numbers.
- Select Format Cells.
- In the Format Cells window, click the Number tab.
- Select Text.
- Click OK.
- Enter or re-enter the number (if it has already been converted to scientific format).
Note: Disregard the Number Stored as Text warning if it appears.
User Registration
You will receive a registration email to set up your account. To complete the registration process, click the link in the email. Follow the instructions that include entering your username (provided by Source-to-Pay Support or your company administrator), creating a password, agreeing to the terms of use, defining your security questions and answers, and confirming your profile.
Note: If you enter an incorrect username or you do not complete registration within 14 days of receipt of the registration email, you must contact your administrator to have the registration email resent.
Account Lockout
If you enter an incorrect username and password after the defined number of attempts your account will be locked. Your company administrator configures the allowable number of attempts, as well as the amount of time that must pass before your account is unlocked. This lockout time can be specified as indefinite, 5, 10, 15, or 30 minutes. If the lockout time is indefinite, a user with the Membership Modify permissions can manually unlock your account.
Sessions
If multiple users share a computer, each user must sign in from a different browser session. Opening a new tab within a browser is still considered as a single session. Although you may be able to sign in on the new tab, any changes made in the new tab will be reflected in the old tab. To begin a new session, consult your browser’s instructions.
Session Time Out
Your session will automatically time out after 30 minutes of inactivity. Five minutes before your session times out, a pop-up window will appear to provide you with the option of extending your session. If you do not respond, any unsaved data will be lost, and you will be directed to the sign in page.
Keep Me Signed In (Optional)
This feature is a secure way to allow users to repeatedly access Source-to-Pay without having to reenter their username and password. Settings for this feature are configured by users with the Corporate Admin permission.
Note: This feature is device and browser specific. Your company administrators may limit the device on which you can use this feature. To use this feature across various devices and browsers, you must select the Keep me signed in checkbox on each device and in each browser you use.
Expired Passwords
Your company administrator configures the number of days before your password will automatically expire. One week before your password expires, you will receive a warning each time you sign in. After your password has expired, you can still sign in, but you will be prompted to change it immediately. If you do not change your password within 180 days of password expiration, your account will become suspended. To access your suspended account, contact Source-to-Pay Support or your company administrator to have your account reactivated.
Sign Out
Before closing the browser window, remember to click Log Out to end the session. This button is located at the top right of your screen.
If you do not sign out, your session will keep running until it times out. If you decide to sign in again before your session has timed out, you will receive a message stating that you are already signed in. If you are already signed in, click Continue to terminate the old session and sign in to the new session.